Mendelssohn: Concerto No.1 in G minor Op.25 – Piano and Orchestra.


Mendelssohn – Concerto No.1 in G minor Op.25 for Piano and Orchestra. Edited with an orchestral reduction for accompanying piano by Adolf Ruthardt and published by Edition Peters.

2 in stock

SKU: 6069 Categories: , ,


Mendelssohn’s Piano Concerto No. 1 in G minor (op. 25) was written in 1830–1, around the same time as his fourth symphony (“Italian”), and premiered in Munich in October 1831.

The three connected movements:

 1.Molto allegro con fuoco in G minor
 2.Andante in E major
 3.Presto—Molto allegro e vivace in G major

These all use several relatively new formal techniques in their brief span — for example, the piano enters very soon after the opening of the first movement, with little of an orchestral tutti to contrast with. The concerto quickly obtained popularity, and contains many sections of improvisation, one of Mendelssohn’s specialities.

Additional information

Weight 1.000000 kg

You may also like…