Bela Bartok: Mikrokosmos Vol. 3 – Piano.


Bela Bartok “Mikrokosmos” Vol. 3 for Piano, new definitive edition, Boosey and Hawkes.

2 in stock

SKU: 2345 Categories: , ,


The definitive edition (1987) of the piano teaching classic. Includes an introduction by the composer’s son Peter Bartók. (English/French/German/Hungarian text).In 1945 Bela Bartok described Mikrokosmos as a cycle of 153 pieces for piano written for “didactic” purposes, seeing them as a series of pieces in many different styles, representing a small world, or as the “world of the little ones, the children”. Stylistically Mikrokosmos reflects the influence of folk music on Bartok’s life and the rhythms and harmonies employed create music that is as modern today as when the cycle was written. The 153 pieces making up Mikrokosmos are divided into six volumes arranged according to technical and musical difficulty.

Major teaching points highlighted in Mikrokosmos 3:


Broken Chords

Chromatic Invention.


  • Thirds against a Single Voice.
  • Hungarian Dance.
  • Study in Chords.
  • Melody against Double Notes.
  • Thirds.
  • Dragon’s Dance.
  • Sixths and Triads.
  • Hungarian Marching Song.
  • Triplets.
  • In Three Parts.
  • Little Study.
  • Five-tone Scale.
  • Hommage a J. S. B.
  • Hommage a R. Sch.
  • Wandering.
  • Scherzo.
  • Melody with Interruptions.
  • Merriment.
  • Broken Chords.
  • Two Major Pentachords.
  • Variations.
  • Duet for Pipes.
  • In Four Parts (1).
  • In Russian Style.
  • Chromatic Invention(1).
  • Chromatic Invention (2).
  • In Four Parts (2).
  • Once Upon a Time…
  • Fox Song.
  • Jolts.

Additional information

Weight 1.000000 kg

You may also like…