Grieg: Nocturne / Notturno Op. 54 No. 4 – Piano


Grieg Nocturne / Notturno Op. 54 No. 4 – Piano. Edition Peters

2 in stock

SKU: 2297 Categories: , ,


In 1894, Anton Seidl, the conductor of the New York Philharmonic, orchestrated four of the pieces for his orchestra to play. He gave the work the title of Norwegian Suite. The four pieces he chose were:

  • Norwegian March 
  • March of the Dwarfs  
  • Notturno 
  • Bell-Ringing.  

Seidl died in 1898. In 1905, with the assistance of Daniela Thode (1860-1940; the daughter of Cosima Wagner by her first husband Hans von Bülow, and the grand-daughter of Franz Liszt), Grieg obtained the score of Seidl’s arrangement but was dissatisfied with it in some respects. He wrote to Seidl’s widow, saying that, while her late husband’s work had considerable merit, it did not fully accord with his own conception of the pieces, and he had therefore revised Seidl’s orchestrations.

Additional information

Weight 1.000000 kg

You may also like…