Massenet: Méditation from Thaïs – Piano


Massenet – Méditation from Thaïs for Piano. Published by Kevin Mayhew.

2 in stock

SKU: 6086 Categories: ,


Méditation is a symphonic intermezzo from the opera Thaïs by French composer Jules Massenet. The piece is written for solo violin and orchestra. The Méditation is a symphonic entr’acte performed between the scenes of Act II in the opera Thaïs.

The piece is in D major and is approximately five minutes long (although there are a number of interpretations that stretch the piece to over six minutes).

Massenet may also have written the piece with religious intentions; the tempo marking is Andante Religioso, signifying his intention that it should be played religiously and at walking tempo. Although it is arranged for solo piano this arrangement of this lyrically exquisite piece remains true to the text and spirit of the composer’s intentions.

Additional information

Weight 1.000000 kg