Debussy – Six Epigraphes Antiques for Piano Solo.


Debussy – Six Epigraphes Antiques for Piano Solo. Edition Peters.

2 in stock

SKU: 4058 Categories: , ,


Achille-Claude Debussy (22 August 1862 – 25 March 1918) was a French composer. Along with Maurice Ravel, he was one of the most prominent figures associated with Impressionist music, though he himself intensely disliked the term when applied to his compositions. In France, he was made Chevalier of the Legion of Honour in 1903. A crucial figure in the transition to the modern era in Western music, he remains one of the most famous and influential of all composers.

His music is noted for its sensory component and frequent eschewing of tonality. Debussy’s work usually reflected the activities or turbulence in his own life. In French literary circles, the style of this period was known as symbolism, a movement that directly inspired Debussy both as a composer and as an active cultural participant.

Here we have a good example of Debussy’s style in “Six Epigraphes Antiques”, arranged by H. Swarsenski and also includes editors notes.


  1. Pour invoquer Pan, dieu du vent d’été
  2.  Pour un tombeau sans nom
  3.  Pour que la nuit soit propice
  4.  Pour la danseuse aux crotales
  5.  Pour l’égyptienne
  6.  Pour remercier la pluie au matin

Additional information

Weight 1.000000 kg

You may also like…