Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 1


Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 1. Published by Boosey & Hawkes.

2 in stock

SKU: 098 Categories: , ,


Sergei Rachmaninov composed his Piano Concerto Number 1 in F-sharp minor, Op. 1, in 1891, at age 18. He dedicated the work to Alexander Siloti. He revised the work thoroughly in 1917.

The public was already familiar with the Second and Third Concertos before Rachmaninoff revised the First in 1917. The First is very different from his later works; in exchange for less memorable melodies, this concerto incorporates elements of youthful vivacity and impetuosity.

 The differences between the 1890-1891 original and the 1917 revision reveal a tremendous amount about the composer’s development in the intervening years. There is a considerable thinning of texture in the orchestral and piano parts and much material that made the original version diffuse and episodic is removed

Additional information

Weight 1.000000 kg

You may also like…